Which Shopify Apps Track AI Visibility, Traffic, and Conversions?
To track AI visibility, traffic and conversions on Shopify, start with what Shopify already gives you for free. Its reports show sessions and sales by referrer, which reveal visits and orders from chatgpt.com, perplexity.ai and other assistants. Orders placed through AI channels via agentic storefronts carry channel attribution in your admin. And the Knowledge Base app counts how often AI agents ask about your store. For visibility tracking inside Shopify, apps such as rankzupAI, Mento, IndexGPT and LLMFriendly run prompts in assistants, from about $29 a month. Some also connect GA4 for conversions. Most of these apps are new, with few or no reviews, so test them against your own checks before trusting their numbers.
What can you measure for free in Shopify?
| What | Where | What it shows |
|---|---|---|
| AI referral sessions | Analytics reports, sessions by referrer | Visits from chatgpt.com, perplexity.ai, gemini.google.com, copilot.microsoft.com and others |
| AI referral sales | Analytics reports, sales by traffic referrer | Orders from those visits |
| AI channel orders | Orders in the admin | Orders placed through AI channels via agentic storefronts, with channel or referrer attribution |
| AI agent questions | Shopify Knowledge Base app | How often AI agents request your store's information |
| Google AI impressions | Google Search Console generative AI report | Impressions of your pages in AI Overviews and AI Mode |
ChatGPT adds utm_source=chatgpt.com to many outbound links, which Shopify's reports pick up. Not every visit is tagged, though. App traffic and copied links often arrive without a referrer, so these reports undercount AI influence. Treat them as a floor.
Which apps track AI visibility inside Shopify?
As listed on the Shopify App Store:
| App | Price | What it tracks | Engines | Traffic and conversions | Reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| rankzupAI | From $32/mo (25 questions); $63, $123, $271 tiers | Product-level visibility, competitors question by question, AI crawler reads, robots.txt effects | 6 engines including ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI answers | Connects GA4 for traffic and conversions | None yet |
| Mento | $29/mo (10 queries); $49/mo (20 queries) | Daily visibility score, competitors and citations on Pro, product readiness audit | ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity | Not listed | None yet |
| IndexGPT | Free plan available | AI score, prompt tracking across LLMs, brand sentiment | Several major LLMs | Not specified | 4.9 from 144 reviews |
| LLMFriendly | Free (5 prompts once); $89.99 and $129.99/mo | Weekly or twice-weekly prompt runs, competitor intelligence | ChatGPT, Gemini | Not specified | 1 review |
| LightSite AI | $3,588/yr | Mentions, AI bot crawl and extraction, citation share | ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, Perplexity, AI Overviews | Bot analytics | None yet |
Several of these also generate content, llms.txt files or schema. Those are improvement features, not measurement, and the evidence for llms.txt is weak. Judge the apps here on tracking quality.
How do the apps compare on value?
Per tracked question, prices range widely:
- Mento Grow: $29 for 10 queries on 3 engines, about $2.90 per question.
- rankzupAI Starter: $32 for 25 questions on 6 engines, about $1.28 per question, with GA4 included.
- LLMFriendly Optimize: $89.99 for 5 custom prompts weekly on 2 engines, about $18 per prompt.
On price per question and engines covered, rankzupAI's entry plan stands out. But low review counts mean less evidence about reliability. Before choosing, check how each app collects answers and how often.
How do you connect visibility to conversions?
Visibility on its own does not show revenue. To link the two:
- Use GA4's AI Assistant channel, built in since May 2026, which groups referrers such as chatgpt.com, gemini.google.com and copilot.microsoft.com; add a custom channel only for assistants it misses. The method is covered in how to track ChatGPT and other AI referrals in GA4.
- Make sure purchase events are tracked in GA4 through Shopify's Google & YouTube app, or your own setup.
- Compare AI referral revenue with changes in your tracked visibility, by product or topic.
- Add AI channel orders from agentic storefronts, which never touch your site's analytics if the checkout happens inside the channel.
- Ask customers at checkout or in a post-purchase survey how they found you, with an AI option, to capture influence without a click.
An app that connects GA4, such as rankzupAI, does step 3 for you. Otherwise, a monthly spreadsheet works.
What are the limits of Shopify AI tracking apps?
- Small samples. Ten or twenty-five questions cannot represent a catalogue. Choose questions for your best-selling categories.
- Unknown methods. Few apps say whether they query consumer apps or APIs, or how many runs they make. Ask.
- Young vendors. Many apps launched in 2025 or 2026. Keep your own records of prompts and results.
- Data access. Some apps request access to customer, order or device data. Grant only what tracking needs, and read the privacy terms.
- Overlap with improvement features. Apps that both measure and "fix" can report improvements in their own scores that do not show up in real answers. Check a few answers by hand.
How should a store set up measurement?
- Weekly: check Shopify's sessions and sales by referrer for AI sources.
- Weekly or daily: a tracking app on 10 to 50 product and category questions.
- Monthly: compare AI referral revenue, AI channel orders and visibility trends. Review Search Console's AI impressions for product and guide pages.
- Quarterly: run your key questions by hand in ChatGPT, Google, Perplexity and Gemini, and read the answers in full.
How to run this measurement yourself without paid apps is covered in how to measure DIY AEO results on Shopify. How Shopify's free readiness tool fits in is covered in Shopify's free AI shopping readiness tool. The apps that help improve visibility, rather than measure it, are compared in which Shopify apps help improve AEO and GEO visibility.
What might a store's first month show?
Consider an illustrative skincare store. Shopify's sales by referrer report showed 1.8% of online revenue from chatgpt.com, and none from other assistants. It installed a tracking app on the entry plan with 25 questions covering its three best-selling categories. After four weeks, the app showed the store named in answers for moisturiser questions but rarely for sunscreen, where a competitor dominated. The Knowledge Base app showed AI agents asking most often about returns and ingredients. The store updated its sunscreen pages with clear SPF and ingredient details, corrected its returns FAQ, and set a monthly review comparing the tracker's visibility with AI referral sales.
What do people ask about Shopify AI tracking?
Can Shopify show how many orders came from ChatGPT?
Yes, for visits that arrive with a ChatGPT referrer or tag, through sales by referrer. Orders placed through AI channels via agentic storefronts show channel attribution in the admin.
Do I need an app to see AI traffic?
No. Shopify's built-in reports show AI referral sessions and sales. Apps add visibility tracking in the assistants themselves.
Which app tracks the most engines?
Among the apps above, rankzupAI lists six engines on its entry plan.
Are these apps reliable?
Many are too new to judge from reviews. Compare their results with your own manual checks for a few weeks.
Should I trust Shopify's reports or GA4 for AI revenue?
Use both and expect small differences. Each tool counts AI-referred orders by its own attribution rules, so check how each one does it before comparing. Pick one as your headline figure, note which, and keep it consistent month to month so trends stay comparable.
Published by The Kovmere Team · updated Sep 29, 2026 · More resources